Our guiding principle is simple. With regards to Personal Injury, our goal is to make you as ‘whole’ as you were before the accident. This means having you compensated monetarily for your injuries as well as seeking out the best medical care for your physical and emotional recovery. Right at the outset we will be taking the steps to insure both of these outcomes for you. Since you may or may not be in a position to know what to do, our leadership, experience and ability will guide you past the various hurdles that can prevent you from obtaining a recovery—both financial and medical.
An Overview of Auto Accident Injury Law in California
In this article, you will find answers to questions like:
- How can I find out what will happen if I file a personal injury claim?
- What does comparative negligence mean, and how will it affect my case?
- Why is an attorney so important if I’ve been injured in an accident?
I Was Injured In A Car Accident Near Santa Clarita, CA. What Steps Should I Take If I Want To File A Personal Injury Claim?
If you’ve been injured in a car accident near Santa Clarita, California, you will likely have many questions. What is my auto accident case worth? How do I know if I will have a successful injury claim?
No one expects to get into an auto accident, but they happen all the time. When it happens to you, it’s helpful to know what can come next. While a personal injury attorney cannot make any guarantees about the outcome of your case, they can provide you with a realistic estimate of what you can expect.
So, if you’ve been injured, don’t hesitate to reach out to an injury accident attorney. At our firm, we offer in-depth complimentary consultations to address all of your concerns risk-free.
Based on the information you provide in your consultation, we will form a strategy tailored specifically to your specific goals. This strategy can include some of the following initial steps:
- Making a report to the insurance company (if a claim has not already been made),
- Seeing that you get the medical attention you need,
- Taking action to get your vehicle repaired,
- Attempting (whenever possible) to obtain a rental car for use during your vehicle repairs.
- Understanding Your Rights In California Premises Liability Cases
- Preparing Yourself For An Auto Accident Case In California
What Can I Do If I Was Partially At Fault For A Car Accident In Los Angeles County?
If you believe that you were in any way responsible for your car accident, you likely have one major question: How will liability impact my San Fernando Valley personal injury claim?
This may differ from case to case; however, the law makes provisions for those partially at fault In the state of California, courts recognize comparative negligence laws.
To assess comparative negligence, a jury can assign a percentage value of fault to each driver. This percentage of fault is then subtracted from the total damages you are ultimately eligible to recover.
For example, if your case is worth $100,000 and a jury decides that the accident was 10% of your fault, you would clear $90,000 as an award.
It’s important to note: If you believe that you are partially responsible for your auto accident, do not admit this or speak about it to any insurance representatives. Admitting fault can cause roadblocks when attempting to prove your claim. Instead, contact an auto accident lawyer as soon as possible. Your attorney can provide services as an intermediary between you and insurers, protecting the value of your claim.
How Long Do I Have to File A Personal Injury Claim After A Car Accident In CA?
California sets a statute of limitations for nearly all criminal and civil cases. This means that there is a period of time within which you must file a lawsuit before the court considers it to be “expired”.
For personal injury claims and other auto accidents, you have two years from the date of the crash to file a claim. If you fail to file a claim before this period elapses, you could lose the ability to recover damages permanently.
Can I File A Personal Injury Claim If I Was Hit By An Uninsured or Underinsured Driver in California?
Whether or not you can recover damages after an accident with an underinsured or uninsured motorist will depend on a number of factors.
For example, you may decide to pursue a case if the accident was relatively minor or if the other driver has assets that could be used to compensate you for your damages.
In any situation, it’s best to consult with an experienced auto accident attorney who can help you to determine whether the cost of a claim will be worth its estimated reward.
Do I Still Need To Hire A San Fernando Valley Personal Injury Attorney For My Car Accident Case If It Is Clear The Other Driver Was At Fault?
You are under no legal obligation to hire an attorney to handle your auto accident claim. However, you are also under no obligation to pay a doctor to remove a bullet from a gunshot wound. You could choose to handle it yourself.
When making these decisions, it’s important to remember that it isn’t a matter of legal obligation or ability. Rather, it’s a decision of the cost and benefit of having an expert on your side.
Similarly to choosing to remove a bullet on your own, you may be able to handle your personal injury claim completely adequately. However, having a skilled and experienced professional to handle the matter on your behalf can greatly reduce any adverse effects – and increase the possibility of a best-case scenario outcome.
Insurance companies spend inordinate amounts of money training their employees in strategic cost-reduction techniques. This can mean anything from reducing the liability of their insured, overemphasizing your fault in the accident, claiming that your injuries were preexisting, and more.
When you’re up against professionals who are being paid to undercut the value of your case, why try and handle it by yourself? A skilled personal injury attorney will be able to use their years of experience to ensure that your rights to compensation are protected and honored by your claim.
For more information on Auto Accident Personal Injury Claims In CA, an initial consultation is your next best step. Get the information and legal answers you are seeking by calling (661) 270-7858 today.
Understanding Premises Liability Claims In California
In this article, you can find answers to questions like:
- What injuries are eligible for compensation in a premises liability case?
- How do I know if I have a valid personal injury claim?
- Do I need to seek medical attention if I’ve been injured in a slip and fall accident?
What Is Premises Liability Law?
Premises Liability is a subsection of personal injury law in California. These claims arise when people are injured by negligently hazardous conditions in public spaces, rental properties, and businesses.
Why Can You File A Personal Injury Claim If You’ve Been Injured On Someone Else’s Property?
Property managers and landowners have a legal responsibility to ensure the safety of any place they make available to invitees (people who are allowed on the property). When responsible individuals fail to meet this requirement, they can be held financially liable for injuries that occur due to hazards they have ignored.
What Are Common Examples Of Slip And Fall Or Trip And Fall Accidents That Commonly Occur In LA County?
There are countless situations that can cause a person to slip or trip in a public space. Some of these instances may include:
- Falling over cords, wires, and other objects.
- Getting caught by holes and cracks in the ground.
- Slipping on spilled liquids, ice, and other slick surfaces.
- And more . . .
For your case to qualify for compensation, you must prove that the presence of these hazards was the cause of negligence. This means that you must prove that the property manager knew about the hazard and made no effort to fix it or warn you of the dangers. Working with a premises liability attorney is the best way to make sure that you have the evidence you need to get the compensation you deserve.
What Type Of Injuries Often Occur As A Result Of A Trip And Fall Or Slip And Fall Accident?
The injuries that a person suffers by tripping or slipping can range greatly in scope and severity. Some of the most common injuries seen in these cases include:
- Broken Bones
- Lacerations (Cuts and scrapes)
- Spinal Injuries
- Head Injuries
- Pulled Muscles & Ligaments
- And more . . .
If you seek compensation for medical bills and other damages via a premises liability claim, you need evidence to prove your injuries. This means that seeking medical help is essential to the success of any case.
Additionally, a doctor will be able to do even more than diagnose and document your injuries. Seeking medical treatment right away will help to ensure that any physical trauma you have sustained won’t turn into something much worse down the road.
Does CA Law Consider My Contributing Fault When Determining If I Am Entitled To Compensation For My Slip And Fall Injuries?
If you are partially at fault for a premises liability claim, your case may be affected. In the state of California, courts recognize comparative negligence laws.
To assess comparative negligence, a jury can assign a percentage value of fault to each party. This percentage of fault is then subtracted from the total damages you are ultimately eligible to recover.
For example, if your case is worth $10,000 and a jury decides that the slip and fall accident was 10% of your fault, you would clear $9,000 as an award.
It’s important to note: If you believe that you are partially responsible for your accident, do not admit this or speak about it to anyone. Admitting fault can cause serious roadblocks when attempting to prove your claim.
Instead, contact a slip and fall accident attorney as soon as possible. Your attorney can take the action needed to protect the value of your claim.
For more information on Premises Liability Injury Claims In California, an initial consultation is your next best step. Get the information and legal answers you are seeking by calling (661) 270-7858 today.
Call Us To Schedule A Consultation